Banner Information: Providing current and reliable information so you and your family can make healthy choices.

Birth & Death Records

Important Note: Starting January 1, 2021, a new vital records law and rules go into effect that changes the ordering requirements for birth and death certificates.

  • For increased security of personal information, only individuals with specific relationships to the person on the record being requested can receive a certified copy.
  • Identity and proof of relationship documentation will be required.
  • Certificate fee is $25.00 per copy. 

Important note: no refunds will be given if a record could not be located or the documentation you provided did not prove you were eligible to receive a certificate.

For more information, visit the Frequently Asked Questions page.

Birth Certificates

Certificates for births registered in Washington State from 1907 to present are available. These can be purchased:

  • Online
  • By Mail - Certified Birth Certificate (English, Spanish)
  • By Mail - Non-Certified Informational Birth Certificate (English, Spanish)
  • By Phone at 1-866-687-1464. Representatives take orders 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

You will need:

  • The infant’s name at birth, place of birth, and date of birth;
  • First and last name of all parents as listed on the record;
  • Whether the child was adopted.
  • Proof documents (for certified copies).

Certificates for births before 1907 are available online from the Washington State Center for Health Statistics, or call 360-236-4300.

Contact Us

Phone: 360-728-2235
Office Hours: Weekdays, 8 am to 4 pm

Kitsap Public Health front counter now open to limited in-person services Monday through Friday, from 9:00 am to 3:30 pm

Location: 345 6th Street, Suite 300, Bremerton, WA directions

Death Certificates

These are available through the Health District:

  • Online
  • By Mail (English, Spanish)
  • By Mail - Non-Certified Informational Death Certificate (English, Spanish)
  • By Phone at 1-866-687-1464. Representatives take orders 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.


For ALL WASHINGTON STATE death records, (that occurred in the past 3 years or have been filed electronically 2014 to present). For a list of counties participating in electronic filing of death records go to:  Washington's Electronic Death Registration System (EDRS).

You will need:

  • Full name and age of the deceased;
  • Date and city of death;
  • Birth date (if known);
  • Proof documents (for certified copies).

Contact Us

Phone: 360-728-2235
Office Hours: Weekdays, 8 am to 4 pm

Kitsap Public Health front counter now open to limited in-person services Monday through Friday, from 9:00 am to 3:30 pm


Location: 345 6th Street, Suite 300, Bremerton, WA directions

Divorce Records

Contact the Kitsap County Clerk's Office at 360-337-7164.

Marriage Records

Contact the Kitsap County Auditor's Office at 360-337-4935.


© 2018 KITSAP PUBLIC HEALTH DISTRICT | 345 6TH STREET, SUITE 300 BREMERTON, WA 98337 | 360-728-2235 |    Terms of use & Privacy Policy   |  Staff Login

KPHD Google Analytics Page